The brick building opened in 1899 as Akron’s main post office. Pairs of carved eagle medallions and bronze lanterns decorate its Market Street façade and a mosaic depicting a Pony Express rider is embedded in its lobby floor. The Akron Art Museum moved into the building in 1981 after a major renovation.
In 1874, the newly-formed Akron Public Library Board met for the first time, with John R. Buchtel serving as the first President. Later that same year, the Akron Public Library opened its doors at the corner of Mill Street and South Howard Street. The building shown here was constructed in 1904. Although the building no longer…
The Akron Fire Department was fully motorized by 1914, one of the first departments to do so in the country!
Built in 1904, for the purpose of being a permanent home for Akron’s Public Library. Its purpose lasted nearly 40 years before being considered obsolete.
Busy day at Akron’s Central Fire Station. A crowd gathers to watch firemen practice their skills.
Akron Fire Department has a long and proud history dating all the way back to 1839 when Akron Council provided for the creation of volunteer companies to replace the Fire Warden. The “North Akron Fire Company” was formed on December 11, 1839. The first fire engine house was erected in 1841.
Built in 1902, the old jail was located between High Street and S. Broadway Street in downtown Akron. Inside were living quarters for the county sheriff and cells for up to 100 prisoners. The stunning sandstone building was destroyed in May 1965 and replaced by the new City-County Safety Building.
Construction of Akron’s Water Plant at Kent began in 1913 and was completed in 1915. The project included the creation of the Lake Rockwell Reservoir which is the primary source of Akron’s drinking water supply.
The Summit County Infirmary – also known as the County Poorhouse – stood from 1865 to 1919 off West Exchange Street near the present site of Westminster Presbyterian Church between Rose Boulevard and Mull Avenue. A Hellish Place When the Infirmary opened it was praised as “an honor to the county and a mark on the…
In May 1881, the Wooster Avenue Water Works was put into service on the Mallison Farm. Water was supplied from a large well 50 feet in diameter and 30 feet deep at the pumping station. This view shows the works after considerable addition to the original structure.
The United States Post Office building is located at the corner of E. Market and Prospect Streets was completed in 1929 at a cost of $565, 000. This was Akron’s second Post Office building – the last having been built in 1899. The building’s second floor served as a home for other governmental organizations including:…
The first horseless (motorized) police vehicle introduced in the United States was used in Akron, Ohio. The vehicle had seating space for 12 people. The car was often called a squad car because it was used to transport a squad of police officers to a crime scene.
Looking nothing like a jail, this stunning structure was erected in 1902. Inside the sandstone walls were living quarters for the county sheriff and cells for up to 100 prisoners. In 1965 the building was destroyed to make way for the new City-County Safety Building.
Ohio National Guard Armory in Akron, Ohio