The dam was built in 1911-1912 by the Northern Ohio Traction & Light Co. as part of a hydroelectric plant that generated electricity for its Akron trolley cars. Use of the Hydroelectric generation plant was discontinued in 1958.
The founding of the Akron Fire Department dates all the way back to 1839 when Akron Council provided for the creation of volunteer companies to replace the Fire Warden. The “North Akron Fire Company” was formed on December 11, 1839. The first fire engine house was erected in 1841.
The North Hill Viaduct was an impressive structure. At 2810 feet long, 72 feet wide and 135 feet high at the river, it made a lasting impression on anyone viewing it. This longtime iconic symbol of Akron was destroyed and replaced by the All American Y Bridge.