For much of the early 1900’s, the Summit lake area of Akron was among the most picturesque in the city.
The Ohio & Erie Canal carried freight traffic from 1827 to 1861, when the construction of railroads ended demand. The canal served as a water source for industries and towns until around 1913 when much of the canal system was abandoned/destroyed due to major flood damage.
With a train in the background a sunken canal boat in the foreground, and the prominent Northern Ohio Railway bridge towering over the scene, this historic postcard image gives a glimpse into Akron, Ohio’s transportation history.
Founded in Akron in 1870 as Goodrich, Tew & Co. by Dr. Benjamin Franklin Goodrich. The company name was changed to the “B.F. Goodrich Company” in 1880, to BFGoodrich in the 1980s, and to “Goodrich Corporation” in 2001.
Among the many attractions at Summit Beach Park were the “Around the Lake” (and a little of the canal) boat rides.