The street has been called Millionaires’ Row by some and rightfully so. Before it was commercially developed, Akron’s East Market Street was populated by Akron’s most famous names. F.A. Seiberling (Goodyear), Ferdinand Schumacher (Quaker Oats), O.C. Barber (Diamond Match).
Built by the Freemasons in 1917 for their business and social gatherings. Following a sale in 1999, the building went through a two million dollar restoration project. Today the structure is used as a special events center.
The Greyhound Bus Terminal in Akron was built at a cost of $600,000. It afforded patrons all the expected modern conveniences including a cafeteria. Up to fourteen busses could be docked simultaneously at the terminal. The building was connected to the Union Railroad Depot via an enclosed skywalk. It was also just one block from the…
The Music Hall was dedicated on opened in 1904 with a concert by the Victor Herbert Orchestra. Paul E. Werner, a German-American immigrant and philanthropist who made his fortunes in the publishing industry (Werner Printing and Lithograph Company) financed the $65,000 building. It was commonly known as the German-American Music Hall until anti-German sentiments arose…
The Akron Fire Department was fully motorized by 1914, one of the first departments to do so in the country!
It’s a busy day at Akron’s Summit Beach Park. Visitors take in the many amusements and attractions at the famed park on the shores of Summit Lake. – Summit Beach Park averaged 25,000 visitors a day at its peak.
Looking down on Akron’s Main Street gives a picture of how vibrant and busy this city was in its heyday.
Location across from Akron’s Union Station, Grace Park became a hotspot for political campaigns and “whistle stop” speeches. Rutherford B. Hayes, William H. Taft, William McKinley, and Theodore Roosevelt all gave speeches to large crowds at Grace Park.
The Industrial University Club House is located at the corner of Goodyear Boulevard and East Market Street.